When I first arrived in August, I expected a boat load of homework every night and that I’d have to work hard for A’s in all my classes. I was right about both.

Seventh grade was hard compared to sixth. I had to struggle through the first few months and stay up late into the night just to finish my science reading notes or to study for my upcoming Spanish test.

I honestly think the amount of homework this whole year was unreasonable. Why give us more work when we’re already working from bell to bell in every class?

It was hard especially hard for me to finish all my work because I barely had any time to do it. Everyday I trudged home with a heavy backpack, planning to finish it later. I had to go to both of my brothers’ three hour baseball games, take care of my sister, attend my own practices and matches, help with chores, etc.

Eventually, I got used to managing my time and using it wisely. And it ended up that the extra homework helped me achieve my good grades in every class. I had to work harder the second semester as my classes got harder. But sitting in front of my desk for two hours studying was worth it as my test grades went up in science and math.

Overall I think seventh grade was very challenging! If I were to ever redo it, I definitely would NOT. It’s a miracle that I made it through, and I hope that eighth grade will be different.